The Halloween Countdown

Standard

I may be busy and I may be crazed but Halloween is coming up and I am absolutely determined to have a really good costume this year. It is, after all, my absolute favourite holiday.

…yes, my dear Catholic readers, my favourite holiday is Halloween. Not Easter. Not Christmas. Halloween. Now before you go calling me a pagan, let me quickly point out that the respectable Leah Libresco ALSO loves Halloween and seems to be getting on just fine as a newly minted Catholic. There’s my obligatory finger-pointing taken care of; now for some of my actual justification.

This time of year, there is always a debate going on in the Catholic world. To celebrate Halloween or not? and if we celebrate it, do we make the kids dress up as saints and traipse through the neighbourhood in their robes and crowns with their super-symbolic candy buckets?

As a former witch (of every variation), flower child, ragdoll-Sally, bat, princess (of several flavours), galaxy, Ariel, and Mom-only-knows what else,* I object wholeheartedly to this proposal. Halloween is the day to dress up and pretend to be someone or something else. While I have not repeated a costume in my entire life (and I don’t plan to start any time soon!), my sister was a cat for at least four years running. And she was an adorable cat, too. But being a cat has nothing to do with saints or All Hallows Eve or souls. It does, however, have to do with the fact that on one day a year, we have a chance to put on a mask and costume and transform ourselves.

So, with 29 days left until Halloween, I’m hoping to write up a series of short posts about the holiday and why it’s not terrible to celebrate it.

*Mom made a lot of my costumes for a long time.

Got $0.02 to spare?

