Habemus Papam!

Standard

I know this is all over the internet, but I don’t care.

We have a Pope!  Pope Francis (everyone is calling him Francis I but I heard that you don’t call him Francis I until there’s a Francis II).  The first ever Jesuit–but possibly one of the only sane and solid Jesuits these days.  I mean, just look at his credentials (which I found on Wikipedia, and I assume they haven’t really had much time to re-write his article from being Cardinal Jorge Bergoglio):

Member of the Congregation for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments

Member of the Congregation for the Clergy

Member of the Congregation for Institutes of Consecrated Life and Societies of Apostolic Life

Member of the Pontifical Council for the Family

Member of the Commission for Latin America

…not to mention that he ticked off the president of Argentina for opposing homosexual adoption, citing it as a form of child abuse.  Wow.  I think we’re in hands far more conservative than the term “Jesuit” could ever bring to mind.

I’m proud to have gone to a Jesuit school now!

Got $0.02 to spare?

