#YOLO

Standard

Relatively recently, the Twitter hashtag (is that where it started?) “YOLO” has been going viral.  Short for “You Only Live Once,” it serves as a replacement for “Carpe Diem” and is often a justification for debauchery.  It is found not just on Twitter but also on Facebook and sometimes in real life.  I think, however, it can be repurposed with a little bit of play-on-meaning.  What happens when you put it in another context?  For instance…

“When was the last time you went to Confession? #YOLO”

“Just got back from the Gettysburg cemetery #YOLO”

“Remember you are dust and unto dust you shall return… #YOLO”

Or, on a happier note:

“At my wedding reception; just danced with my new husband. #YOLO”

“Great-Aunt just turned 100!  Happy birthday!  Someday I want to be like her. #YOLO”

“New baby (number 4) born today! 8lbs 5oz. #YOLO”

In these situations, “You Only Live Once” can be used as “Memento Mori” or “Carpe Diem”–instead of the usual: “Going out and getting so waaasteddd toniiight #YOLO”

Now if you, my dear readers, will excuse me, I have to make sure my camera battery is charged so I can photograph a beautiful Vocations Rosary here in my home diocese.  Remember–You Only Live Once.  Make the most of it.  Make it holy.

One response »

Got $0.02 to spare?

