O Come O Come Emmanuel : Advent Hymns :: Gilligan’s Island theme song : Emily Dickenson poems

Standard

If you can’t read the title of the post, you failed English class at some point in your education.  The point of it, however, will be explained shortly.

One of my biggest pet peeves of the Advent season is the tendency of many Novus Ordo churches to put all the songs of the Ordinary to the tune of “O Come O Come Emmanuel.”  It reminds me very much of the fact that all Emily Dickenson’s poems, due to the fact that they are written in ballad style, can be sung to the tune of the Gilligan’s Island theme song.

The question is now: what happens when you sing the Ordinary to the tune of Gilligan’s Island?

3 responses »

  1. Emily Dickinson? Gilligan’s Island?

    Until I read your post, Ink, I didn’t realize my liberal arts education was so incomplete.

    Gilligan’s Island first hit the airwaves while I was still in college and I’m shocked that one of my somewhat loony, guitar-toting English profs didn’t pick up on this marvelous method for inspiring an appreciation of Dickinson’s poetry.

    I would have expected something like this from at least one of them but, alas, they all let me down.

Got $0.02 to spare?

