Welcome to the Third Edition of the Roman Missal!

Standard

I’ve been going to the Latin Mass for a couple years now (I can’t remember exactly how long) and I must admit that these new English translations have made me ecstatic.  It reads almost exactly like the right-hand side of the Latin-English Missal!  It’s beautiful.  I admit that today was a little slow–all of us are adjusting, so we’re sort of stumbling through the Mass–but it will eventually be beautiful.  And maybe the chant will encourage churches to do more of the propers IN LATIN.  I’m such a sucker for a Latin Credo.  Or Sanctus.  Or Agnus Dei.  Or… you get the idea.  (Actually, my personal favourite–and my sister’s–sung Credo is Palestrina’s Credo from Missa O Magnum Mysterium.  Liturgical music nuts, correct me if I’m wrong, but I believe it is a polyphonic tune for… four voices?  I think four.  But can be done with more.  Don’t quote me on that, ask a liturgy nerd.  My normal go-to liturgy nerds are at Mass right now.)

I’m not going to post a whole list of the changes–you can find those online, or at your local Catholic church now that it’s Advent–but I would like to remind everyone to respond, “And with your spirit”!  (Maybe it would be easier if we just switched back to Latin?  I don’t know.)

Also, something lovely I noticed–I can still sing the Sanctus in Latin.  And the current English setting of the Holy, Holy, Holy is the plainchant for the Latin.  This makes me happy.  Now I need to learn the Credo…

Oh!  One more thing.  To anyone who says that changing “We believe” in the Creed to “I believe” ruins the community identity, a few things:

1. “Credo” is first person.  Looks like Spanish, doesn’t it?  “Tengo,” “hablo,” etc.  Spanish (like French, Portugese, Italian, and Romanian) is a Romance language–it is derived from Latin.  So the Latin is saying “I believe.”

2. I really don’t see how you can say that the community identity is ruined when a hundred voices all say the same words together.  The Pledge of Allegiance is in first-person too, and schoolchildren all over the nation say that in unison. “I pledge allegiance to the flag…”

3. It’s kind of pretentious, in this day and age of modernistic relativism, to assume that everyone believes what you believe–even at your own church.  I’ve run into too many dissenters in the past to say, “Well, WE believe X, Y and Z” and have switched to referring to myself alone for the simple fact that many “Catholics” don’t understand the True Presence.  (I know not all, but I’m from Rochester.  Sadly this kind of an experience can make a young Catholic a bit jaded, I’m afraid.)

Anyway, enjoy the beautiful new translations!  Maybe you want to invest in a new Roman Missal… or a Latin-English missal.  You never know when someone may decide to switch it up on you! 😉

Got $0.02 to spare?

